

DER FOGMEISTER – DEMPSEY ON POLE FOR THIS AFTERNOON'S 2009 STAR MAZDA CHAMPIONSHIP SEASON FINALE AT MAZDA RACEWAY LAGUNA SECA

Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca / Oct. 10 – During a nail-biting qualifying session, notable both for the fog in which it occurred and last-moment drama of a battle of tenths between the two



remaining title contenders, it was Peter 'The Irish Steamroller' Dempsey who scored his fifth pole of the season and will occupy the inside of the front row for the start of the season finale of the 2009 Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. His lap of 1:20.109 (100.573 mph) in the #3 Juncos Racing / The Collection / Motorsport Ireland / Queyside.ie Mazda was just shy of the outright

Star Mazda Championship lap record set in qualifying for this race last year – a 1:19.935 – by the driver who went on to victory (but will start from 9th on the grid this year) Richard Kent.

Dempsey, winner of five races so far this year – four of them from the pole – now needs to finish only 7th or better to clinch the series championship... and the career-making prize that goes with it; a fully-sponsored 2010 season in the Atlantic Championship Powered by Mazda, courtesy of the MAZDASPEED Motorsports Driver Development Ladder.

"I thought winning the pole would take a lot of pressure off me, but it actually hasn't," said Dempsey. "It was a really tough qualifying session with the conditions like they were out there, and to get the pole on the last lap is a huge bonus for me, including the extra point I get in the championship battle. The JDC Motorsports cars really got their act together and were quick in qualifying and Adam really put the pressure on me. This is our fifth pole of the season, and I really need to thank the Juncos Racing team for giving me such a great car. The track dropped of about half a second yesterday between the cool of the morning and the hotter session in the afternoon but the 'feel' of the track didn't change at all, the times were just a bit slower because the corner speeds dropped off. But we're going to go the same direction and keep the same setup. It's just going to be about getting off the line and trying to stay ahead of the rest of the field during the race."

Several people held the pole position throughout the session, including Louisiana racer Alex Ardoin, who won this race in 2007, but will ultimately start from 3rd on the grid with a lap of 1:20.397 (100.213 mph) in his #51 JDC Motorsports / Oral & Facial Surgery Center / Twister

Trailer Mazda. Englishman Adam Christodoulou, the only driver remaining with a chance to spoil Dempsey's relentless march toward the championship held the pole until Dempsey's flier on the final lap and will start on the outside of the second row with a lap of 1:20.138 (100.537 mph) in the #11 JDC Motorsports / Molecule / Miller Milling Company / Alpinestars Mazda.



Rounding out the top-5 are Californian Joel Miller, who turned a lap of 1:20.412 (100.194 mph) in his #2 Andersen Racing / Doug Mockett & Co. / Allied Interior Products Mazda, and Brazilian racer Caio Lara with a 1:20.692 (99.846 mph) in the #19 JDC Motorsports / MLD / ATW/ Molecule Mazda. Making stellar showings in the final race of the season are 6th-place qualifier David Ostella (who scored a podium finish in Round 7 on the Iowa Speedway oval); he turned a lap of 1:20.992 (99.476 mph) in the #71 AIM Autosport/Global Precast Mazda.

Also of note is the performance of Giancarlo Vilarinho, a Brazilian Formula BMW racer making his first start in the Star Mazda Championship; he was 3rd-quick in practice on Friday and his lap of 1:21.040 (99.418 mph) in the #73 AIM Autosport Mazda was good for 7th on the starting grid. The quality of competition in the race, and the likelihood of a wheel-banging battle, is indicated by the fact that the top-5 qualifiers are all within about half a second of each other, and the top-10 are within about a second.

Among the Master (ages 45 and older) and Expert (ages 30-44) Series drivers, Expert racer Patrick O'Neill was quickest, starting 16th on the 23-car grid with a lap of 1:22.018 ((98.232 mph) in his #64 O'Neill Construction Mazda. The championship battle in the Expert series also comes down to two drivers -- Vancouver, B.C. racer Chris Cumming (the reigning Expert Series champion from 2008), who will start 17th with a lap of 1:22.590 (97.553 mph) in the #16 World Speed Motorsports Mazda; and Japanese driver Toshihiro Deki, starting from the last row with a lap of 1:26.013 (93.904 mph) in his #80 Juncos Racing / D-Techniques Mazda.

The quickest Master driver was Mike Guasch, who has already clinched the Master Series championship with six in-class wins. He turned a 19th-fast qualifying lap of 1:22.723 (97.395 mph) in his #91 JDC Motorsports / Molecule /MG4 Manufacturing Mazda.

The field of 23 Star Mazda Championship cars and drivers will take the green light for the 45minute 2009 season finale at 12:50 pm.

Pos	No.	Name	Best Tm	Diff	Best Spd	In Lap	Team	Sponsor
1	3	Peter Dempsey	1:20.109		100.573	15	Juncos Racing	Juncos Racing / The Collection / Motorsports Ireland
2	11	Adam Christodoulou	1:20.138	0.029	100.537	12	JDC Motorsports	Molecule/AlpineStars/Miller Milling Co
3	51	Alex Ardoin	1:20.397	0.288	100.213	8	JDC Motorsports	Oral & Facial Surgery Center/Twister Trailer
4	2	Joel Miller	1:20.412	0.303	100.194	9	Andersen Racing	Allied Interior Products/Doug Mockett & Co
5	19	Caio Lara	1:20.692	0.583	99.846	8	JDC Motorsports	MLD/ATW/Molecule
6	71	David Ostella	1:20.992	0.883	99.476	12		
7	73	Giancarlo Vilarinho	1:21.040	0.931	99.418	8	Aim Autosport	
8	27	Anders Krohn	1:21.040	0.931	99.418	15	Mundill	Trallfa/Colosseum
9	33	Richard Kent	1:21.080	0.971	99.369	10	Andersen Racing	Traka/Allied Interior Products
10	72	Jorge Goncalvez	1:21.177	1.068	99.250	7	Aim Autosport	
11	30	Kyle Marcelli	1:21.203	1.094	99.218	8	Team GDT	
12	85	Chris Miller	1:21.398	1.289	98.980	9	JDC Motorsports	Miller Milling Company
13	21	Denis Navarro	1:21.403	1.294	98.974	8	Andersen Racing	Navarro Medicines Distribution/Allied
14	66	Rusty Mitchell	1:21.447	1.338	98.921	8	Mitchell Motorsports	Motorola
15	22	Conor Daly	1:21.767	1.658	98.534	8	Andersen Racing	Indeck/Cytomax/Merchant Services/College Network
16	64	Patrick O'Neill	1:22.018	1.909	98.232	6		
17	16	Chris Cumming	1:22.590	2.481	97.552	6	World Speed Motorsports	Texas World Speedway/Motul Oil/K&N Filters +
18	65	JW Roberts	1:22.629	2.520	97.506	8		
19	91	Michael Guasch	1:22.723	2.614	97.395	9		
20	13	Michael Furfari	1:23.343	3.234	96.670	8	Mundill	Furfari Paving
21	12	Chuck Hulse	1:23.578	3.469	96.399	8	DFR	
22	55	Gerry Kraut	1:23.789	3.680	96.156	8	JDC Motorsports	Dougherty and Co./Dougherty Funding LLC.
23	80	Toshihiro Deki	1:26.013	5.904	93.670	6	Juncos Racing	